Sovereign, Volume 1

Sovereign Volume An epic fantasy in the tradition of Game of Thrones Sovereign is set in a world which once knew gods demons and magic and to which all three are returning New York Times bestseller Chris Roberson

  • Title: Sovereign, Volume 1
  • Author: Chris Roberson Paul Maybury
  • ISBN: 9781632151445
  • Page: 357
  • Format: Paperback
  • An epic fantasy in the tradition of Game of Thrones, Sovereign is set in a world which once knew gods, demons, and magic, and to which all three are returning New York Times bestseller Chris Roberson joins artist Paul Maybury to tell the story of masked undertakers facing the undead with swords, of civil wars and cultures in collision, and of ancient threats emerging fromAn epic fantasy in the tradition of Game of Thrones, Sovereign is set in a world which once knew gods, demons, and magic, and to which all three are returning New York Times bestseller Chris Roberson joins artist Paul Maybury to tell the story of masked undertakers facing the undead with swords, of civil wars and cultures in collision, and of ancient threats emerging from the ashes of history to menace the future.Collects Sovereign 1 5, plus extras.

    • Best Read [Chris Roberson Paul Maybury] ☆ Sovereign, Volume 1 || [Graphic Novels Book] PDF ☆
      357 Chris Roberson Paul Maybury
    • thumbnail Title: Best Read [Chris Roberson Paul Maybury] ☆ Sovereign, Volume 1 || [Graphic Novels Book] PDF ☆
      Posted by:Chris Roberson Paul Maybury
      Published :2018-08-18T14:02:00+00:00

    One thought on “Sovereign, Volume 1”

    1. A group of oddly-attired people in masks are walking down a road. They’re attacked by zombies or something. Some archers on horseback shoot some animal and eat it. A bookish chap is crossing the sea and his ship is attacked by a decayed animal. A middle eastern-type kingdom’s ruler is dying and his throne is being fought over by two brothers. Sound vaguely interesting? It’s not. This is Sovereign. The blurb compares this comic to George R. R. Martin’s Song of Ice and Fire series which is [...]

    2. Infographic courtesy of Taco BellSo, let's talk about Taco Bell. This partially has to do with my review, and it's partially just stalling for time because I really don't want to have to revisit the comic I just read. As you can see above, Taco Bell sells a buttload of tacos. I mean, 1 billion Doritos Locos Tacos. That's like 4 billion hours spent in the bathroom regretting your decision, as the human race, to purchase and eat 1 billion Doritos Locos Tacos. I'm not saying I don't eat Taco Bell-- [...]

    3. Sovereign is a multi-layered, high fantasy that spans different colliding cultures who must fight together to stop the creatures of the other worlds squeezing their way into Khend as the four domains of their world draw close together. The politics and power take a backseat in the face of dangerous inhuman forces. The concept of Sovereign is as complex as it is intense and that's the beauty of it all.The Luminaries have stepped out of their walls of silence to carry out their sacred duty and war [...]

    4. 'Sovereign Volume 1' attempts to tell an epic fantasy story with an interesting world. The problem is that some of the information you might like to have comes late in the book.The book is comprised of shorter chapters which feature a quote by one of the characters. There are strange characters in masks. There is political intrigue. There are chapters of just exposition with no character dialogue. Strange creatures, explorers, walking dead, and lots of other interesting things going on.The probl [...]

    5. Sovereign (collected 1-5) lays the foundation for a very entertaining series steeped in various castes and domains. There is adventure, danger, deadly monsters/beasts, scholars, sorcerers and telekinesis. The narrative by Roberson moves around between a few different storylines, but all interweave. Maybury's artwork was beautifully rendered, rich in color, and added well to the story. I enjoyed this a lot and look forward to the next volume.

    6. Picked this up because the art looked good when I flipped through it, and it's got a fantasy premise. The story's a bit of a slow burn that kind of dumps the reader straight into a strange world, with three different narrative threads with different characters, and doesn't really start to connect the dots until near the end of this initial volume. Depending on your levels of patience and/or interest in the material, it could be frustrating. It sucked me in enough to keep reading, but just when I [...]

    7. 2.5 stars. I understand how this comic is like Game of Thones, but when you claim that on the outside cover I am going to expect a lot. Unfortunately, you don't get quite what you were promised with Sovereign. The comic jumps around to many different characters that you never really get to know well. It was hard to care about them because I barely knew who they were before major plot points were occurring. The whole thing felt a bit rushed and could have done with a little more backstory and cha [...]

    8. An interesting book, but not much more than that. Set in a fantasy version of Arabia or Persia, there's a lot going on involving world mythology that isn't explained right away. It mostly makes sense when it does, but there are a lot of characters running around for such a slim volume that it is difficult to care what happens to any of them.

    9. Sovereign is set in a fantasy world 'which once knew gods, demons, and magic, and to which all three are returning', and basically is a zombie apocalyptic story set in something like medieval Asia. There are people called adepts (who basically have superpowers) and then some of them are the Luminati (outcasts whose job is disposal of bodies). Set in Khend, where suddenly the bodies of the dead are rising due to demons possessing them, the world of this novel borrows some of it's mythology from N [...]

    10. Well, the world being created here is interesting, at least. The idea of convergences powering up all the faithful and endangering the world has been used before, but the specifics here are interesting. There is a lot of detail here in creating this world, with the various factions and religions all intersecting at a major event in the early days of the convergence. However, this book is ALL setup; hardly any plot occurs beyond characters reaching a central location. Everything is about building [...]

    11. Initially confusing comic collectionThis comic collection has many strands to the story which, at first, seem alien to each other but eventually intersect. It all takes place in a fantasy world and the short part-chapters add to the initial confusion. It also involves the raising of the dead who become a zombie menace.The story eventually brings everything together and there is obviously much more to come. Many characters appear, some of whom are fleshed-out, others remaining a bit of a mystery. [...]

    12. Closer to 2.5 stars. It's okay. My biggest complaint is the artwork. I'm not a huge comics fan so I don't know much about artists and the different kinds of artwork, but I found the art in this to be meh. There are a lot of panels where the action is confusing and makes little sense. I did like that when the story transitioned to other places that the colors changed.The story itself is okay. A lot goes on and a lot of characters are introduced so that might throw some readers off. I found it eas [...]

    13. I have no idea how this can be compared to Game of Thrones.One of the issues I had with this was the art. The art is terrible, and yes that's just a personal opinion, but it's not even consistent art work, which makes the whole thing worse. Everyone has lumpy distorted faces, and the colours are dull, and none of it appealed to me. If the art is good, then the story can be saved, but this has literally nothing going for it (again, only my opinion I'm sorry), so I couldn't even get half way throu [...]

    14. I read this as an advance reader. The art is good and the story works well. There are too many things in it without a lot of storytelling involved. For example, there is a potential fight for a throne but that is set aside to deal with zombies (I'm getting sick of zombies!). It is only volume 1 so it may be explained better later. It was ok. I don't know if I would read volume 2 or not.

    15. Slightly disjointed with artwork that shows the crudeness of humanity, I found Sovereign not quite compelling enough. I finished, but I doubt that I'll worry about returning to that world in later volumes. I do manage to wonder if a few things were changed or added if I would be so reluctant to continue the journey. It just wasn't enough.

    16. A real mess of a book, that tries to mix sword and sorcery with Game of Thrones political intrigue and never really accomplishes either. And the artwork is so bad it almost has to be seen to be believed (I've come across a number of collections recently with some amazingly atrocious artwork--guess the major publishers are really relaxing their standards or something?).

    17. I received this from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.First of all, the artwork is gorgeous. There are a bunch of pages that were so beautiful that I almost want them as prints. The story is very interesting, and the lore and history is fantastic. I look forward to volume 2.

    18. Multi layered stories all linking into each other. Clever and it works. Artwork matched the style. looking forward to volume two.

    19. Absolute piffle. Mystical, cod-Islamic nonsense that just doesn't work. Nearly abandoned it, wished I had.

    20. Liked the mysterious undertakers but wasn't crazy about the overall story. Might get over my aversion to zombies in order to read more about the Convergence, though. Mixed feelings are mixed.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *