The Murders on the Grand Pont

The Murders on the Grand Pont Absolom of Pouliguen is about to have a bad day one that even he may not be able to be philosophical about When a rival philosopher is strung up from the Grand Pont and another is thrown head first in

  • Title: The Murders on the Grand Pont
  • Author: James Burge
  • ISBN: null
  • Page: 110
  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • Absolom of Pouliguen is about to have a bad day one that even he may not be able to be philosophical about.When a rival philosopher is strung up from the Grand Pont and another is thrown head first into a moving water mill, Absolom finds himself at the centre of a web of lies All the evidence points to him as the murderer whilst the real murderer plots Absolom s own dAbsolom of Pouliguen is about to have a bad day one that even he may not be able to be philosophical about.When a rival philosopher is strung up from the Grand Pont and another is thrown head first into a moving water mill, Absolom finds himself at the centre of a web of lies All the evidence points to him as the murderer whilst the real murderer plots Absolom s own death Facing trial for murder, he must fight for his own life, as well as dealing with his former lover Benedicte Will the wry philosopher s search for the truth set him free Or will it lead to his ruin Set against the backdrop of a colourful and urbane medieval Paris, The Murders on the Grand Pont is the first in a new series of brilliant historical novellas Full of humour and period detail the Absolom series will appeal to fans of Matthew Shardlake, Cadfael, Umberto Eco and Steven Saylor.Praise for The Murders on the Grand Pont James Burge has that rare talent of coupling humour with gripping storytelling His hero is witty, humane and, in far from being perfect, likeable Richard Foreman, author of Raffles The Gentleman Thief.Praise for James Burge s previous books A no nonsense, attractive style which combines seriousness with wry humour Christopher Frayling James Burge opens up this tale with sympathy and directness Frances Spalding Burge is excellent at empathy He makes a moving, likeable document of an extraordinary love Alice Ferrebe, Scotland on Sunday Burge s account is straightforward, lucid, detailed and sympathetic he brings considerable historical acumen to the task of placing the story in its context A C Grayling James Burge is a television programme maker turned writer He has written two acclaimed non fiction books about the Middle Ages Heloise and Abelard Profile 2003 and Dante s Invention History Press 2010 He lives in London.Endeavour Press is the UK s leading independent publisher of digital books.

    • ✓ The Murders on the Grand Pont || à PDF Read by ✓ James Burge
      110 James Burge
    • thumbnail Title: ✓ The Murders on the Grand Pont || à PDF Read by ✓ James Burge
      Posted by:James Burge
      Published :2018-09-16T22:09:43+00:00

    One thought on “The Murders on the Grand Pont”

    1. I received this via Endeavour Press as part of their Virtual historical fiction festival 2016 us6mpaign-archive1/?u=9This was a really enjoyable, if brief, story set in 12th Century Paris following the central character Absolom who is a Philosopher. When 2 other Philosophers are murdered on the Grand Pont within the space of a couple of hours of each other with no witnesses, then questions are asked especially as Absolom is seen arguing with the Philosophers earlier so things aren't looking good [...]

    2. It's evocative, entertaining and erudite. Burge wears his learning so lightly but it's very clear that he's a writer who's researched mediaeval Paris thoroughly and knows his philosophy well. But he shows us, for instance, what the Theory of Universals is through a joke about universes and a conversation. The usually serious business of philosophy is turned on its head in terms of how it's dealt with: it's never laboured nor didactic, and the very idea of philosophical debate deteriorating into [...]

    3. Evocative, erudite, engaging! 12th century Paris in its gritty grandeur, a city of ideas, burgeoning wonders, buxom tavern wenches, and a sailing dog. Drop into the middle of its teeming humanity a frazzled philosopher, a couple of malicious murders, a ubiquitous urchin and a bumbling bishop along with a few other characters, savory and un, and you have a thoroughly enjoyable quick read that delivers in its compact economic span a satisfying story that nonetheless leaves you craving more. Bravo [...]

    4. A brisk romp through 12th century Paris on the trail of a murderer who is killing philosophers, this novella is a quick an entertaining read.There are a few typos but nothing that detracts too much and there's a strong feel for the period. Absolom himself is an intriguing character and deserves to be developed at rather more length than is available here.

    5. Paris in 1122, and two philosophers are killed on the Grand Pont bridge, with a third Absolom, as the suspect.A very quick okay read but I didn't find Absolom as a particularly nice or interesting character.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *